Julian Alvarez had a penalty incredibly disallowed during Atletico Madrid's shootout defeat against Real Madrid in the Champions League on Wednesday.
Article continues below
Article continues below
Article continues below
Champions League tie went to penaltiesAlvarez scored his spot-kickVAR disallowed it for double contactFollow GOAL on WhatsApp! 🟢📱WHAT HAPPENED?
Alvarez stepped up to take his team's second spot-kick in the shootout after the last-16 tie ended in a 2-2 aggregate draw. The Argentine forward scored but slipped as he hit it and a VAR review revealed that he had inadvertently touched the ball twice, resulting in the goal being disallowed.
AdvertisementWATCH THE CLIPTHE BIGGER PICTURE
Seeing Alvarez's effort ruled out put Madrid 2-1 up in the shootout before Federico Valverde stepped up to increase their advantage. Angel Correa scored to give Atleti a chance and then goalkeeper Jan Oblak saved Lucas Vazquez's penalty to provide a further boost, but Marcos Llorente could only smack the woodwork, allowing Antonio Rudiger to score and send the visitors through.
Getty Images SportDID YOU KNOW?
Carlo Ancelotti's side will now go on to the quarter-finals, where they will face Premier League side Arsenal following their 9-3 aggregate victory against PSV.